Church House

St Sampson·Attraction

Part of The National Trust of Guernsey

Standout

176-year heritage (1850)

Story

Built in the late 1850s as one of John Mowlem's offices on the island. Mowlem was a contractor in London who used Guernsey granite supply for paving and started his own quarry in Guernsey. The wedge/triangle shape is believed to have allowed cart access to the surrounding stone yards. The building was uninhabited for approximately 25 years before restoration. At the peak of the granite industry in the 19th century, there were 268 functioning quarries on Guernsey.

Church House is a listed 1850 heritage property in St Sampson, managed by the National Trust of Guernsey. Built as part of John Mowlem's granite quarrying operation, the distinctive wedge-shaped building is known locally as "The Triangle House" or "The Cheese". Following restoration completed in 2022, it is now privately tenanted as a two-bedroom dwelling and is not open to the public.

Established

1850 · 176 years

Visiting & access

Parking
2 spaces on-site plus nearby parking
Public transport
Bus routes P2 (ask to be dropped at St Sampson's Parish Church)

Contact

Address
Church Road, South Side, St Sampson, Guernsey GY2 4LL

Compiled from public sources — mistakes are possible. If something here looks wrong, let us know.