GuernseyIsland GraphBeta
CategoriesCapabilities
For owners
Island Graph · A living guide to Guernsey · Continuously updated© Island Graph Limited · Registered in Guernsey no. CMP78596
Privacy & CookiesSitemap
Island Graph/All niches/Community & Public Services/Culture Heritage

Historic Sites & Landmarks

26 active businessesStory

Twenty-four sites span 1640 to 2017 — eleven National Trust of Guernsey properties, with specialist clusters of six fortification curators, six heritage-residence curators, four headland reserves, and four parish monument keepers. St Peter Port holds six; St Pierre du Bois three. Clifton Valley was the Trust's first land purchase. —

Operating since 1251

16 of 26 have a recorded year
130013501400145015001550160016501700175018001850190019502000

All businesses

Government House

St Peter Port·Organization

✦101-year heritage (1925)

accessible entranceaccessible parkingalderneybailiwick wideguernsey

Built by Nicolas Maingy as 'Le Mont' at the corner of Mont Durant and Petite Marche. First inhabited by Lt Gov Major General John Small (1793-96). Once owned by privateer Jean Allaire. Became Government House permanently in 1925 when purchased by the Crown. Ownership transferred…

Phone+441481226666
Webgovernmenthouse.gg
Emailgovernorsoffice@gov.gg

The Cider Barn

Sark·Attraction

Part of La Société Sercquaise

✦466-year heritage (1560)

charitysociety run

Built as a house by Sark's first Seigneur Helier De Carteret in the 1560s on the site of older church buildings and a 12th-century cemetery. Around 1620 his grandson adapted it for cider making with a press and horse-drawn crusher. Later served as armoury and arsenal until…

Phone+441481832788
Websocsercq.org/museum
Emailsecretary@socsercq.sark.gg

Le Moulin de Quanteraine

St Pierre du Bois·Attraction

Part of The National Trust of Guernsey

✦Oldest in this niche

476-year heritage (1550)

national trust managed

Last water mill to function in Guernsey, closing in the 1930s. Acquired by the National Trust in 1989 via bequest from Elizabeth Silten. Waterwheel restored in 1991 by College of Further Education students, repaired again in 2012 and 2020. The wheel was demolished during the…

Phone+447781106461
Webnationaltrust.gg
Emailemc@nationaltrust.gg

Church House

St Sampson·Attraction

Part of The National Trust of Guernsey

✦176-year heritage (1850)

national trust managed

Built in the late 1850s as one of John Mowlem's offices on the island. Mowlem was a contractor in London who used Guernsey granite supply for paving and started his own quarry in Guernsey. The wedge/triangle shape is believed to have allowed cart access to the surrounding stone…

Phone+447781106461
Webnationaltrust.gg
Emailemc@nationaltrust.gg

Fort Grey Shipwreck Museum

St Pierre du Bois·Attraction

Part of Guernsey Museums, States of Guernsey

✦Active since 1976

states owned

Built 1804 as military defence during Napoleonic Wars by Thomas Henry of Clos du Valle. Sold by War Office to States of Guernsey in 1891 for £185. Used by German forces in WW2 (Widerstandsnest Graur Turm). Restored and converted to shipwreck museum in 1976.

Phone+441481265036
Webmuseums.gov.gg
Emailmuseums@gov.gg

Hauteville House

St Peter Port·Attraction

Part of Maisons de Victor Hugo / City of Paris (Ville de Paris)

✦Active since 1927

states owned

Built c.1800 by an English privateer. Purchased by Victor Hugo on 16 May 1856 using revenues from Les Contemplations. Hugo lived here during exile 1856-1870 and returned in 1872, 1875, and 1878. Donated to the City of Paris in March 1927 by Hugo's descendants (Jeanne, Jean…

Phone+441481721911
Webmaisonsvictorhugo.paris.fr/en/guernesey
Emailhugohouse@cwgsy.net
Featured story

Alderney Railway

Alderney·Attraction·Since 1847

Built by the British Government in the 1840s to carry stone for breakwater construction, officially opened 1847. First nationalised railway in Britain, operated by the Admiralty. Queen Victoria and Prince Albert rode on it in 1854. During WWII, track was replaced with German 60cm gauge. Society took over in 1978, first public passenger run Easter Saturday 5th March 1980. Thomas the Tank Engine connection: a 1911/1912 incident where a train overshot the breakwater inspired Rev Wilbert Awdry.

View full profile →
“Queen Victoria and Prince Albert rode on it in 1854.”

Alderney Railway is a heritage railway on Alderney with origins in 1847, built by the British Government as the first nationalised railway in Britain to carry stone for the Braye breakwater. Queen Victoria and Prince Albert rode it in…

La Seigneurie House and Gardens

Sark·Attraction

✦461-year heritage (1565)

privately owned

Site dates to the 6th century when the Priory of Saint Magloire established a monastery. Home to Sark's Seigneurs since 1675. Gardens restored to their 1860 design. The 22nd Seigneur Michael Beaumont died in 2016, succeeded by Major Christopher Beaumont (23rd Seigneur).

Phone+441481832175
Weblaseigneuriedesercq.uk
Emailgardens@laseigneuriedesercq.uk

The National Trust of Guernsey

Group of 8

—·Organization

Anchors Victorian Shop & Parlour, Les Caches Farm, Creve Coeur and No. 79 and 5 more on this lens. View The National Trust of Guernsey →

8 subsidiaries on this lens
  • Victorian Shop & Parlour

    St Peter Port·Attraction

  • Les Caches Farm

    Forest·Attraction

  • Creve Coeur and No. 79

    Vale·Attraction

  • La Prévôté and Clifton Valley

    St Pierre du Bois·Attraction

  • Le Catioroc & Lihou Island

    St Saviour·Attraction

  • Les Blanc Bois Archway

    Castel·Attraction

  • Houmet Paradis

    Vale·Attraction

  • The Ivy Gates Archway

    St Peter Port·Attraction

German Underground Hospital

St Andrew·Attraction

✦Active since 1942

The German Underground Hospital (Ho.40) and Ammunition Store (Ho.7) were constructed by forced labourers during the German Occupation of Guernsey. Site work began in early 1942 and was largely complete by early 1944. 29,823m³ of rock was excavated and 9,053m³ of concrete poured…

Phone+441481235261
Webgermanundergroundhospital.co.uk
Emailinfo@germanundergroundhospital.co.uk

Alderney Bayeux Tapestry Finale

Alderney·Attraction·Est. 2012

alderney

Started Feb 2012, completed 28 Feb 2013, officially unveiled 5 Apr 2013 by the curator of the Bayeux Tapestry Museum. Over 400 people contributed stitches including King Charles III and Queen Camilla. Exhibited at Bayeux Tapestry Museum summer 2014 (141,458 visitors). Kate…

Phone+441481823448
Webalderneybayeuxtapestry.com
Emailinfo@alderneytapestry.com

Chapel of St Apolline

St Saviour·Attraction

Part of Deanery of Guernsey

✦634-year heritage (1392)

states owned

Built in 1392 by Nicholas Henry of La Perelle manor as a chantry chapel dedicated to Saint Apolline, patron saint of dentists. First mentioned in a charter by Richard II on 20 July 1394. Fell into disuse during the Protestant Reformation and was conveyed to Thomas Effart in…

Phone+441481263045
Webchurchofengland.org.gg

German Naval Signals HQ

St Peter Port·Attraction

Part of Guernsey Museums (States of Guernsey)

states owned

Last operational German naval Signals HQ, running until Liberation Day 9 May 1945. Used Enigma code machines that were being decoded by Bletchley Park. Part of the Atlantic Wall fortification system. The nearby La Collinette Hotel served as the HQ of the German Naval Commander…

Phone+441481226518
Webmuseums.gov.gg
Emailmuseums@gov.gg

Artisan Cheesemakers

St Saviour·Organization

La Fregatestrained or unstrainedthe Duke of NormandieThe Venture InnVraic

Artisan Cheesemakers is a dairy in St Saviour, operated by founder Beverley Whattam. The dairy produces a range of cheeses branded 'Caillebottes et Lait Sur', along with yoghurt made to order from full-fat pasteurised Guernsey milk. Cheese is made on Thursdays, and yoghurt at…

Phone+447781413297
Webwww.trigs.com/get-in-touch
Emailartisancheesegsy@gmail.com

The Watermill

Alderney·Attraction

Part of The Alderney Society

alderney

Earliest record circa 1236. Present structure rebuilt in 1796. Mill and adjoining lands given to the Alderney Society. Underwent approximately 20 years of volunteer-led restoration, completed circa 2018.

Webvisitalderney.com

St Tugual's Chapel

Herm·Attraction

✦11th-century Herm chapel

775-year heritage (1251)

Missionary monks visited Herm in the 6th century including followers of St Tugual. Norman monks lived on the island for several decades. The Wood family reopened the chapel and cleared its windows after taking the island lease in 1949

Pleinmont Headland

Torteval·Attraction

✦Active since 1960

national trust managed

Pleinmont Headland is a coastal headland in Torteval managed by the National Trust of Guernsey since 1961. It features WWII fortifications including Batterie Dollman and the 5-storey German naval observation tower MP3, the 300-year-old La Table des Pions stone circle, Fort…

Phone+447781106461
Webnationaltrust.gg
Emailemc@nationaltrust.gg

Guernsey Underground News Service Blue Plaque

St Peter Port·Attraction·Est. 2017

states owned

Guernsey Underground News Service Blue Plaque is a heritage marker at Eleanor House, The Bordage, St Peter Port, unveiled in 2017 by Bailiff Sir Richard Collas. It commemorates GUNS, a clandestine news sheet operation run from The Star newspaper offices during the German…

Webwww.essentialguernsey.com

La Valette Underground Military Museum

St Peter Port·Organization

La Valette Underground Military Museum is a museum housed within former German military tunnels in St Peter Port. It offers visitors insight into Guernsey's military history, with a particular focus on the island's occupation during World War II. The museum serves both residents…

Phone+441481722300
Webwww.lavalette.uk/Contact_us.html

Other niches in Culture Heritage

All Culture Heritage →
  • Museums Heritage Centres15
  • Heritage Trusts Preservation Societies12
  • Archives & Special Collections4
  • Heritage Tours Guides3
  • Genealogy Local History Services2